Senate Approves Two CSB Nominees

Senate Approves Two CSB Nominees

The Senate approved two of President Biden’s nominees, Stephen Owens and Sylvia Johnson, to serve five year terms on the Chemical Safety Board (CSB). The CSB is charged with investigating industrial chemical accidents and hazards and issues regulatory recommendations to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), and other agencies.

Owens and Johnson will fill two of the four CSB vacancies, joining the Board’s lone serving member, Chair Katherine Lemos. Owens served as the EPA Assistant Administrator for the Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention during the Obama administration. Johnson worked as an epidemiologist and lobbyist for the United Auto Workers.

Biden’s other nominee, Jennifer Sass, drew unanimous opposition from Republicans on the Environment and Public Works Committee due to her prior criticism of chemical manufacturers. Sass is a toxicologist with the Natural Resources Defense Council. Her confirmation remains uncertain.

IWLA The Resource for Warehouse Logistics

To become an IWLA member visit,


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *